Interview with Author Charles Day and his alter ego, The Evil Jester

Bec: Welcome to my blog, please start out by sharing a little bit about yourself –

Hey everyone, I’m Charles Day. Father, husband, Adult Home Coordinator with my day job, publisher of non-fiction and fiction — writer by night and early AM!

Bec: What first got you interested in writing?

I just love to create imaginary worlds from the voices that dictate what they’ve experienced. I’m also an avid reader, I watch a ton of movies, and I’ve always wanted to be a movie director and do screenplays. I guess by writing fiction, it helps me to achieve some of these desires; I feel I’m making movies out of my writing.

Bec: What are the worst struggles you think writers face, writing and marketing?

For me, first and foremost, I have to be sure I’ve done my best to tell a story that will entertain. Then it’s building up a readership, writing stories that are different from everything else that’s out there, and being able to accept the fact that you really have to be a shameless self-promoter. But, if you truly have a story you believe in, and know for sure many people are going to like it, it helps boost confidence in promoting.

Bec: Tell us about your book/s –

Okay, I’ll try. My newest release, “Legend of The Pumpkin Thief,” with Noble YA Publishers LLC,  is a story that revolves around, Nick, a seventeen-year-old who wants to go on to college and eventually sit for the police exam. His ultimate goal is to be a detective someday. As the story develops, he becomes involved in doing some early detective work when some pumpkins suddenly disappear in his small town of Chesterville.

An urban legend foretells of a Pumpkin Thief who chooses a town each Halloween, stealing the pumpkins so his ghosts, goblins, and other Halloween creatures can have their right to free passage into this chosen town. Without the pumpkins to keep them away, they have free sovereignty to wreak terror and mayhem. Is Nick’s town the chosen one this year?

Although this is a young adult novel, my first actually, it’s fun for all ages. I had a blast writing this, and I’m excited to be working on my next YA novel for them. I really enjoy writing for this genre.

My novella, “Lockdown,” with Wicked East Press included in Hannibal’s Manor is about a young guy with a mental illness who lives with his mother. He’s a huge kid for twenty — think of Micheal Meyers in the Halloween remake — and he also has something supernatural going on. Well, he winds up on a secured psych unit and the staff are about to find out that mental illness and the supernatural just do not mix.

“The Plan: A Mystery,” with Naked Snake Press is about this guy, Frankie who comes into a large amount of cash, but in order to retrieve it, he’s taking along a few of his friends. Little do they all know they are being set up — a conspiracy is about to go down, and Frankie and his boys are in for trouble.

Bec: Are you working on a sequel/s?

Not yet. I would love to do a sequel for the Pumpkin Thief, but I want to see how well received it is first. And if I do, I’m in contract with Noble Publishers to send it to them first, which I would do anyway, contract or not. They are a great publisher to work with. But, yeah, that would be the one.

Bec: What other projects are you working on or involved with?

My horror novel, “Deep Within,” with Twisted Library Press will be out later this year, and I’ve been working on edits for a while. It’s an 80,000 word novel, and it’s taking some time to make it the best it can be before we release it.

My YA western trilogy was just accepted on the 29th of January, one of a few projects that were still under consideration from 2011. Kyle McGertt, Destroyer of the Indian Curses, Book 1, Hunt for The Ghoulish Bartender will be out Nov/Dec 2012.

Deadly Workout, a novella is slated to be released later this year by Dopomalvi Books. Another mystery I wrote in 2011.

And then there is, “Redemption,” still under consideration with a publisher. A collaborative novella about two guys who accidentally kill a young girl in a hit and run. Problem is, they should never have left her to die. I tell the story from Al Fudrucker’s POV, and Mark Taylor tells his story from Benny Fairwether’s. Two separate stories, but the reader will see how they closely interrelate. Evil is coming and it just became furry!!

Bec: What’s your favorite color?

Blue, and black!!

Bec: If you were walking down the road and you saw a zombie walking along the opposite side of the road, what would you do?

Hell, I’d turn and run my ass off. I’m not ‘bout to let him start munching on my small brains! Hehehe!

Bec: Do you like to listen to music while you write or have complete silence?

I do both, whatever mood I’m in when I go to the table to begin writing.

Bec: What is the Evil Jester’s favorite thing to eat for supper?

Whatever small animals he can find when he leaves my house late at night, on the prowl for dinner.

Bec: What genres do you most like to read/write?

Horror, fantasy, thrillers, graphic novels, comics, mystery, and YA. I’ve noticed I’ve been genre jumping lately with my published works. I wrote two mysteries, adult horror, YA horror, and have some other ideas in the future. I go with the best story from the voices in my head, and I do my best to bring it to fruition.

Bec: How long does it take the Evil Jester to do his hair/make-up in the morning? Does he carry a small purse with him so he can fix his evil make-up, should it smudge while he’s goring it up?

Hehehehe. I’ll let him answer that. Hold on. Charlie, Bec has a question for you.

*The evil little jester opens his lid, pops out of his box using his galvanized slinky spring and leans over my shoulder to answer Bec’s question.*

“Ah, my dear, dear Rebecca, one of my first writer buds. I must admit it takes some time to do up my evil face in the AM. I do not carry a small purse, because as you know, I live in a dingy old box. Which by the way, I’d love to have you come on down one day and break some bread with me at the dinner table. We have so, so much to converse about.”

Okay, Charlie, thank you my evil little friend.

Bec: Do you find writing a lonely profession?

Hell no!! Between the voices, my characters that come alive to play with me in their fictitious world, and the evil little muse of mine who lives in a jester box, I’m never truly alone.

Bec: Has the Evil Jester ever run away and started mayhem in a crowded place?

I think we all know the answer to that one, the little devil.

Bec: What would you share with a beginning writer?

When you go to do your first draft, remember no one is going to see it but you. Take your time, but do not keep stopping and going back to redo this and that. Just get the story down on paper. You have many more edits to do from there anyway. And when you feel it’s polished, give it to a fresh set of eyes. And then, go find a publisher.

Bec:  Has the Evil Jester ever bitten a cat?

Nope. He has bitten me on many occasions though; I can show you the bite marks. He hates when I reach down into his jester box! I know what many are thinking right now…dirty minds! Heheehehe!

Bec: What do you wish someone would have told you when you first started your writing journey?

Don’t do it! Heehehe!! Actually I think if someone told me: “Charles, you’re an extremist, a go getter, you have an addictive personality. If you start writing and find you love it, you’re going to be doing it for a very long time.” I would heed there advice and think about what I was getting into. Now…I can’t stop.

Bec: Do you think having other writers as friend is a good thing for your growth as a writer?

Oh, yes, absolutely. I love my writer friends. They are so supportive. I also have three that are my mentors, Gregory L. Norris, Peter Giglio, and Hollie Snider. And then there is someone I’ve looked up to for a few years now, Vince Liaguno, Author, Publisher and Board Member for the HWA. He had many conversations with me when I first started and I’ll never forget those. And Gregory was there when I was ready to quit, getting rejection after rejection. Oh, yeah, you have to have writer friends and mentors to survive in this publishing industry.

Bec: Do you have any story ideas you think are too messed up to write?

Nope!!

Bec: What’s your favorite book? Why?

Right now, my favorite book was The Heart Shaped Box by Joe Hill. My all time favorite book was Lord of The Rings when I was a kid. I had so much fun being in that world. I know I have others and I may have mentioned those in other interviews. I just love to read and have enjoyed so many.

Bec: Who’s your favorite author? Why?

Stephen King. I’m in awe of everything he writes.

Bec: If you were going to take the Evil Jester on vacation, where would he want to go and what would he want to do there?

To a remote location up in the mountains, in a log cabin!!

Bec: Is there anything you would like to share that I haven’t asked you about?

You didn’t ask me do I wear boxers or briefs. Hehehehe!!  Someone asked me that on an interview. Nope, I think you covered everything.

Bec: Thank you for stopping by and sharing! Best of luck with your book and future project!

Thank you, Bec, I had a great time!!!

 

©Rebecca Besser & Charles Day, 2012. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

