Interview with Author Kelly M. Hudson

Bec: Welcome to my blog, please start out by sharing a little bit about yourself –

Thanks for having me.  I’ll try to be a good guest.  My name is Kelly M. Hudson and I grew up in Kentucky and currently reside in California.  I’ve held a bunch of weird jobs in my life and have done a lot of strange things, none of which I can speak of here.  I’m a nerd by nature even though I look like a biker.  I love to read, watch TV, go to movies, and listen to music.  My tastes are all over the map, but I like to think it’s good taste, regardless.  Many would disagree, especially when it comes to Heavy Metal.  Too bad for them!  Oh, and I love to laugh.  A lot.

Bec: What first got you interested in writing?

I guess just reading a lot as a kid.  I loved, and still love, comic books, novels, short stories, magazine articles, newspapers, etc.  I like to read and that led me to writing.  I used to come up with complicated comic-book plots when I’d play with my Star Wars and Mircronauts figures as a kid and it grew from there.  Now I’m a total menace.

Bec: What are the worst struggles you think writers face writing and marketing?

For me, it’s not getting paid!  Ha, ha!  I think the market is open for all sorts of talent, from beginning to more advanced.  You can get published a lot easier now because of webzines and online opportunities.  This gives you a chance to put your stuff out there and get immediate feedback which helps you grow as a writer.  Or quit, if you need to.  The biggest problem is the market for buying books is shrinking even as electronic books open doors for us all to publish what we want.  We don’t need companies anymore, but it seems you’ll get lost in the flood if you don’t have someone backing you. 

Bec: Tell us about your book/s –

I’ve written a score of novels, mostly horror, with a few crime stories here and there, and they’re all sitting on my computer waiting to be edited.  I’ve had a couple published, including a zombie novel called, The Turning, and a supernatural horror novel called, Men of Perdition – both are available on Amazon.com.  I’ve also been lucky enough to have short stories published in over two dozen different anthologies.  I’ve been very, very fortunate that people seem to be willing to put up with all my shortcomings as a writer!

Bec: Are you working on a sequel/s?

I have some ideas, but I’m not writing them. Not unless there’s some kind of need for them, either from inside me or from outside.  I have the kernel of an idea for a sequel to The Turning, but there’s no real push for it to exist, so it will sit on the backburner until or if the time ever comes.  I have a couple of books on my computer that haven’t been read by anyone but me that could become series on their own, but they haven’t been published, so…They live on in infamy in my mind!

Bec: What other projects are you working on or involved with?

Always writing.  I finished a novel a week ago and started a new one.  Just yesterday I got the idea for another novel, so I’m writing on it here and there until I finish the one I’m currently on.  Yes, that was confusing.  I’m just writing, sending stuff in, hoping that someday I get paid enough so I can do this for a living.  But I’ll keep writing, regardless, because it’s fun.

Bec: What’s your favorite color?

Blue.  Royal Blue.  Kentucky Blue.  I’m a big Kentucky Wildcats fan.  It’s a disease we grow up with back home.  There’s no denying it.

Bec: If an elephant and an opossum had a baby together, what would you name the new species?

Tuskntail.

Bec: Do you like to listen to music while you write or have complete silence?

Depends.  I used atmospheric Black Metal to set a mood when I worked on one novel and classic country for another.  Sometimes I just want the quiet.

Bec: Red or black licorice?

Red.  Black licorice tastes like peppery cough medicine, and while that may have floated as something sweet back in the days of the Old West, it doesn’t cut the mustard now.  We’ve advanced in sugary sweetness.  Time to move on.

Bec: What genres do you most like to read/write?

I love to write horror but don’t read a lot of it these days.  I don’t know why except for the vague feeling that I don’t want to be influenced too much by somebody else.  I love to read crime novels and fantasy.  They make up the bulk of my reading material.

Bec: If you were battling zombies on a playground, would you use the slide, swings, or seesaw against them?

The seesaw.  You can crack a zombie under the chin with them or you can fling them off by seesawing like a bastard.

Bec: Do you find writing a lonely profession?

Yeah.  But I’m kind of a loner, anyway, so it works.  

Bec: Chainsaw or shotgun?

Shotgun.  It gets the job done.

Bec: What would you share with a beginning writer?

I don’t know what to say except write, write, write.  There’s no getting around it.  Writing is how you train to be a better writer.  Sprinters have to sprint, musicians have to practice, and blacksmiths have to, uh, blacksmith.  There’s no avoiding it.  You find the rhythm you like and works for you and you do it.

Bec : If you knew you were going to be murdered, how would you want it to be done?

By a super-sexy female ninja trained in the ancient art of death by orgasm.  Well, you asked!

Bec: What do you wish someone would have told you when you first started your writing journey?

I wish I’d been told that some people will hate what you do for whatever reason and you just have to get over it.  The first couple times I got negative reactions to the content of a story of mine, not the actual writing, took me aback.  I was a lot younger then and it cut me down.  I got over it, or course, and I’m better for it now.  But I was kinda surprised at how people can read something into what you’ve done that was never intended.  Now, I could give a damn.    

Bec: Do you think having other writers as friends is a good thing for your growth as a writer?

Yep. Unless they’re jerks who want to tear you down.  Writers are just like everybody else.  Some will help and be nice (I’m looking at you, Rebecca!) and others will be jealous or hateful.  You weed through the bad and stick with the good.  

Bec: What’s your favorite book? Why?

Man, I don’t know.  That’s a hard question.  I will give you an oddball choice simply because I re-read this book a dozen times when I was a kid for some strange reason:  Almuric, by Robert E. Howard.  But recently, I’d say the Hap and Leonard series by Joe R. Lansdale.  Or the Parker series by Richard Stark.  Or the Quarry series by Max Allen Collins, or…Oh, God, I could go on and on.  As to the reasons why?  Well, they have great characters I really relate to, as well as interesting plots.

Bec: Who’s your favorite author? Why?

Joe R. Lansdale.  I like his style, I like his wit, I like the stuff he writes as far as plot and characters.  I don’t know.  I do know that when I crack open a book by him, it’s like coming back home.

Bec: Is there anything you would like to share that I haven’t asked you about?

I’m a nice guy, despite my smart-assery and making up of words.

Bec: Thank you for stopping by and sharing! Best of luck with your book and future project!

Thanks for having me, Rebecca!  I hope I didn’t foul up your joint too much!  You rock and I hope everyone out there buys dozens of copies of your great work and spreads the word!

 

©Rebecca Besser & Kelly M. Hudson, 2011. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

