Interview with Author Scott Lange

Bec: Welcome to my blog, please start out by sharing a little bit about yourself –

I am currently working on my Masters in secondary education at Grand Canyon University as part of a future career change. Running is something that I enjoy, although lately I have been slowed by injuries and a steadfast dedication to poor eating habits and hearty drinking… I have the 5 most amazingly wonderful children and very supportive and loving girlfriend, what I do, I can’t do without her.

Bec: What first got you interested in writing?

That is somewhat of a challenging question to answer, long story, short, I have always loved writing since I was young, through high school and into college…then life happened and, well, I stopped for 20 years until about 3 years ago, I was encouraged by a very close friend to write again and eventually the words began to escape. I’m very thankful for that friend as I discovered a lost part of myself that I greatly enjoy and love to share.

Bec: What are the worst struggles you think writers face, writing and marketing?

For me it is the marketing, given the time, writing is easy. But getting your words out there for the world to read is entirely different. Its not like you can just publish a website and say here I am! If that was the case we would all be Stephen Kings or James Pattersons. I think when I got into this I was a little naïve and thought  you  could just put something cool on the internet and like magic it would go viral and next thing I’d be driving a Bentley. But the internet is strange place and people seem to like double rainbows and girls with a cup.  That being said, as a writer, we, us, me all want our voice to heard, although what is truly important, at least to me, is getting the words out of my head and onto paper, and sharing it with those that appreciate them and if that happens to be a small circle of the world that I reach…then I’m happy.

Bec: Tell us about your book/s –

The Beer Chronicles is a collection of stories that pass through the Paddy Rodriguez Pub. If you could imagine yourself sitting at a bar, looking around, every table, every person would have a story to be told…  I wanted the book to be something that, when read, you can see, feel and taste…one of the main reasons I made the song “Courtney did it!” and the inclusion of the art in the book. The characters of the book find themselves in some dangerous places, either physically or emotionally. These are the darker and very much twisted stories of those people…bad things, unfortunately happen to good people, that is The Beer Chronicles

Bec: Are you working on a sequel/s?

I thought I was working on a sequel for TBC, although it appears to turned into a spin off and will be a stand-alone novel. My intention was to use some stories that didn’t make it, finish some and write new ones. Although it was a story that I was finishing, taking on a life of its own while it will take place in the Paddy Rodriguez universe, will have The Dead Seattle Musicians and have a many, many pints of Jimmies Radical Ale, the story isn’t as twisted in the same vein as the TBC stories, it’s more like Jason Bourne meets Paddy Rodriguez with a generous portion of Oliver Stone and conspiracy theories thrown in. Although, I’m still working on the sequel, I have twisted stuff in the works.

Bec: What other projects are you working on or involved with?

This is probably my biggest creative challenge, I have too many pots on the fire. Aside from the TBC spin off and sequel, I’m trying to work with The Dead Seattle Musicians(it’s a fictionally real band), putting together an EP based on stories in TBC. I have stretch goals/projects like filming a documentary about writing, the writing process and getting published/marketed, and possibly even a micro budget film(like Paranormal Activity) based on the story My Friend, Beer.

Bec: What’s your favorite color?

The color of money, the dark amber gold of a great beer, the rich burgundy of a fine wine, the black hiding in the corners of our soul, and the white found in the purity of true love. My daughters always ask me to pick a favorite kid…they get mad at me because they are all my favorites for very different reasons. I can’t pick a favorite color. Although, I like wearing dark colors and would NOT be found dead in pink!

Bec: Do you like to listen to music while you write or have complete silence?

Bring the Noise! I love it loud! When I write, I need music. That distraction helps me focus, my brain runs a million miles an hour and at times it’s like watching TV in sports bar, dozens of channels, and you’re not sure what to watch. Music helps me reel it in. In fact, music plays a big part in many of my stories.

Bec: What genres do you most like to read/write?

I don’t really stick to a particular genre with either. When it comes to writing, my tone tends to be dark, but the genre could vary depending on the story. In fact, I even sure if my writing really fits neatly into a specific genre, I’m okay with that. My reading can be all over the charts, although right now, it tends to be text books…very dry, I would consider them, the boring genre.

Bec: If you could be any character in any book/movie, you’ve read/seen, who would it be and why?

Easy, Han Solo. Why? Because he is Han f’ing Solo!

Bec: Do you find writing a lonely profession?

You’d think that late nights in a dark room accompanied by only a bright computer monitor and my friend beer would be lonely. It’s not, at least for me, when I’m really into a story, I can get lost in the words, become part of the action…think and feel what’s happening to my characters. I think that comes out in the writing and makes it a very personal and relatable experience for the reader, even when something horrible is happening.

Bec: What would you share with a beginning writer?

Don’t be afraid. Don’t let the criticism of others stop you. It takes great courage to be create and be an artist, to put yourself out there. I have great admiration for anyone that takes the chance to create and risk rejection, but even more for the person that gives rejection the finger and keeps at it.

Bec: Hot fudge or strawberry?

Mmm…Hot fudge.

Bec: What do you wish someone would have told you when you first started your writing journey?

I wish that someone had told me what I said a moment ago…don’t be afraid. I lost 20+ years of writing because I was afraid of what others would say, what others did say.

Bec: Do you think having other writers as friend is a good thing for your growth as a writer?

I wish I had more friends that write, I love bouncing around ideas. Sharing of ideas and techniques or the encouragement to take risks. Writers understand writers just as coach understands an athlete.

Bec: If you created your own world, what color would the grass be there?

Whoa…dude, grass should always be green, man! No, if I could create a world, the grass would be shades of orange, as it should, to go with a blue sky. There is a deeper meaning to that, just something to make you think.

Bec: What’s your favorite book? Why?

Recently I read Brief Interviews with Hideous Men by David Foster Wallace, I love the detail in which he writes, although at times it gets long winded and pretentious. Of course, Fight Club, would be another, as great as it is, I’m afraid it would be a bit trendy to call that a fav. My favorite, Frankenstein, because it is dark and wildly creative for its time, or any time. Shelly creates such sympathy and compassion for the monster, you pity the beast. My story “A Decidedly Different Brew” is an homage to Frankenstein.

Bec: Who’s your favorite author? Why?

I have several authors I enjoy reading…Henry Rollins, Hubert Selby Jr., Chuck Palalnuik, William S. Burroughs, and few others. They write with passion, anger and more importantly, emotion and feeling. But to pick a favorite, I am gonna go off the reservation on this one…Quintin Tarantino, sure he doesn’t write books, but he is a great story teller and a master of dynamic dialog, a cinematic Shakespeare.

Bec: Is there anything you would like to share that I haven’t asked you about?

If people get the chance check out my web sites and music video for “Courtney Did it!”

http://paddyrodriguezpub.com/default.aspx
http://thebeerchroniclesbook.com/default.aspx
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DR-RXqBhS4U Book trailer
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iPw5HLcmyjs&feature=mfu_in_order&list=UL 
Music Video

Bec: Thank you for stopping by and sharing! Best of luck with your book and future project!

Thank you! I appreciate you taking the time to read the book and allowing me space to share a little bit about myself on your blog. I hope that your readers pour themselves a pint and enjoy The Beer Chronicles as well. Good luck to you and all your projects. Cheers!

 

©Rebecca Besser & Scott Lange, 2011. All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

