Are you serious? – Do you think I have all day?

I just told someone in a private message on Facebook: “…remember that blog posts that capture people’s attention without taking too much of their time get the most attention.” I realize now, after I said it, how true it really is.

We live in a time where people want to know everything right now, with the least amount of input from them. This is obvious with how popular Twitter and Facebook are. You can go onto either of these media sites and know how life is going from a few sentences in various posts. Short and sweet wins the day in these arenas.

People scratch their heads when they can’t capture or keep people’s attention. Most times it’s because you’re long winded. I’ve stated before on Facebook that if your status update is long, I’ll more than likely skip over it without reading it. Why? Various reasons… I could be busy with other things and don’t have the time and energy to put into one post when I can read a variety of small ones and connect with more people. I could just not be in the mood to deal with the seriousness that usually leads one to post something of length. Or, I could just not want to because most people take fifty words to say something they could have said with ten. (The exceptions are people I really care about and family. If I’m too busy, I’ll go back and check things out when I have time IF I remember.)

A strong ingredient in getting people’s attention in any media arena (especially blogs), is to get to the point without wasting fifteen minutes of people’s time. Do posts where you can say a lot with a few words. Optimal reading time is AT BEST five minutes (usually less), and that’s if you write something REALLY interesting that the reader wants to know about. Otherwise, you need to tell them what you want to share and let them get back to what they were doing.

If need be, write a series of posts (or statuses in social media arenas) that are more “busy people” friendly. You might be interested in what you have to say, but does everyone else want to sit and read what you have to say?

Learn how to grab and hold short attention spans. Make things more to the point, interesting, and/or exciting. Keep people in suspense of what the next post will be about (make them come back for more), and deliver when they do return! These easy steps/tips SHOULD get you more attention and followers online.

 

rebecca-besser-bloody-horror-banner

 

©Rebecca Besser, 2013. All rights reserved.

One thought on “Are you serious? – Do you think I have all day?”

Leave a Reply

