Interview with Author Christine Verstraete

Author Christine Verstraete
Author Christine Verstraete

Bec: Welcome to my blog! Please start by telling everyone about yourself –

Christine: Bec, thanks for hosting me. I’m a writing chameleon, I guess, as I write horror, science fiction, and nonfiction. Beats being bored!

 

Bec: What is your most recent release(s)?

Christine: My YA novel is GIRL Z: My Life as a Teenage Zombie (by C.A. Verstraete), which you’ll appreciate as the main character is also named Rebecca and called Bec!

girlz-mylifeasateenagezombie-lg

 

 

Sixteen-year-old Rebecca Herrera Hayes faces every teenager’s biggest nightmares: bad skin, bad hair, and worse . . . turning into one of the living dead.

Becca’s life changes forever when her cousin Spence comes back to their small Wisconsin town carrying a deadly secret—he’s becoming a zombie, a fate he shares with her through an accidental scratch.

The Z infection, however, has mutated, affecting younger persons like her, or those treated early enough, differently. Now she must cope with weird physical changes and habits no girl wants to be noticed for…

But time is running out… Most of all, she needs to find something, anything, to stop this deadly transformation before it is forever too late…

I also have an adult zombie novel featuring a historical person and a real life crime that I just finished and am now sending out to publishers. It’s quite… different.

 

Bec: How do you plan to spend Christmas this year?

Christine:  Relaxing with family and friends. It’s always a nice time.

 

Bec: If someone were to give you a book (or ten) as a present, what titles would you like to receive?

Christine: Wow, I have so many I want to read. I want to read Stephen King’s recent books, Mr. Mercedes and Revival; Angela Scott’s Anyone; I have several from Heather Graham’s Krewe of Hunters series to catch up on. And I want to read Fall of Night, Jonathan Maberry’s sequel to Dead of Night.  I know there are many others but I can’t remember them all. Then there are tons more on the Kindle to read yet. I have enough to read until I am 80 I think.

 

Bec: How many books do you currently have out?

Christine:  Several as I write in different genres: I have a nonfiction, how to book for miniatures collectors, In Miniature Style II; a kid’s mystery, Searching for a Starry Night, A Miniature Art Mystery; and stories in several anthologies – the latest is in Athena’s Daughters. Plus the stuff I am still working on.

 

Bec: Is there anything you would like to share that I haven’t asked you about?

Christine: How many pets I have? (One dog right now. We used to raise dwarf seahorses, too, but they don’t live long.)

How I came up with a character who’s part zombie? In GIRL Z: MY Life as a Teenage Zombie, I didn’t want to do an all-out disaster and zombie fighting book as I figured there were enough of those. I wanted to show what happens to a girl when her life is turned upside down when she turns part-zombie. So the book has a character with a bunch of odd quirks and teenage angst plus adjustments to make. And there are bits of odd humor.

 

Bec: Thank you for being my interview victim! Have a great holiday season.

Christine:  Thank you! And I hope your holidays and new year are also wonderful!

 

Find out how to stalk Christine Verstraete below, and enjoy a short except from GIRL Z: MY Life as a Teenage Zombie:
Excerpt from GIRL Z: My Life as a Teenage Zombie:

An old lady Z in a ratty housecoat, the puffs of hair left on half of her head still sporting pink curlers, her mouth ringed with blood like she’d missed while applying her lipstick, limped toward us from the opposite direction.

   She stumbled along, taking mincing steps in dirty pink slippers. A small plastic handbag dangled from a chain around her arm. I watched her progress, unable to shake the thought of somebody’s grandma heading to a tea party before she went missing.

   Carm’s poke at my arm barely registered, my focus solely on Grandma Z shuffling along. “Bec? You good?” my cousin asked.

   I shook my head, but didn’t trust myself to answer. My eyes blurred and got a little moist. I’d never expected this sudden stab of emotion. Up until now the Zs hadn’t bothered me, but this little old lady was different. She could’ve been anybody’s charming little grandma who unfortunately had somehow become infected.

   I couldn’t do it. Not this time.

   As if she sensed my hesitation, Grandma Z gave another little growl and reached for me with chubby hands, her fingers pocked with rot, bits of bone sticking out. I stared at her and screamed when Carm pushed me aside. “Bec, watch out!”

   Carm pumped her gun, the paintballs hitting the senior Z full in the face. She made mewing sounds like a baby and grabbed at her dripping flesh.

   It was too much for me. I averted my gaze. The sight of her agony and the reality of her body falling to pieces bothered me like it never had before.

Website: http://cverstraete.com

Blog: http://girlzombieauthors.blogspot.com

Buy:

Amazon.com: http://tinyurl.com/mwjn6v3

Amazon UK: http://tinyurl.com/ctyd9dz

Barnes & Noble: http://tinyurl.com/d889gzn

 

Bio: Christine Verstraete is a big Halloween fan who enjoys a good scare or two. Her short fiction has appeared online and in anthologies including Timeshares and Steampunk’d from DAW Books, and Athena’s Daughters from Silence in the Library. She also is the author of GIRL Z: My Life as a Teenage Zombie. Learn more at her website, http://cverstraete.com or her blog, http://girlzombieauthors.blogspot.com.

 

©Rebecca Besser & Christine Verstraete, 2014. All rights reserved.

 

3 thoughts on “Interview with Author Christine Verstraete”

Leave a Reply

