Eric A. Shelman – Summer of Zombie Box Set

Summer of Zombie Box Set

What is the Summer of Zombie Box Set?

What authors and books are included?

Meet one of the authors and hear a tidbit about his book below:


Name: Eric A. Shelman

Author Eric A. Selman

What is the title of your book that’s included in the Summer of Zombie Box Set? Dead Hunger II: The Gem Cardoza Chronicle

Scabs by Eric A. Shelman

Who is your favorite character in that book? All of my characters are my favorites, really – while this is Gem’s chronicle, my fiery Latin heroine – Flex is her man and he’s awesome, too.   Hemphill “Hemp” Chatsworth is my British character – and smart as a whip – along with his girl, Charlie Sanders.  This book picks up after book #1 and really reveals the cause of the apocalypse and new ways to fight it.

Are there any “author secrets” in your title (things you included or ideas you had that aren’t shared with readers in the title)? Not really – there is a bit of a difference in my series, though.   In the first book, Flex Sheridan narrates and tells the story.   In book 2, we move to Gemina “Gem” Cardoza, who tells “her beginning,” then picks up the story from where Flex left off in the first chronicle.  I decided to include book #2 in this collection rather than book #1 because the first book is already included in a couple of other collections.  I thought it would be interesting to do it this way because if the reader enjoys it, they can go back to Dead Hunger: The Flex Sheridan Chronicle, to read it like a prequel of sorts.  If they prefer to just move forward from that point, they can always finish the series (thus far) and then read book #1 to see how it all began.  I suppose the logical way would be just to pick up book #1 for $.99 and read it before digging into this volume.

Tell us something about your book that will make us want to read it: I know you always hear that a book is character-driven.  That is also true with the Dead Hunger series.  They drive the story – and me!   My zombies are different, though.   Because of the way their molecular structure integrated with the chemical component that “changed” them, some pregnant females developed differently – in a scary way.  They continue to evolve throughout the story in some surprising ways.

Another thing is how I add characters along the way rather than dumping a dozen people on you all at once.  As my people get on the move, they pick survivors up so that you get to meet them one or two at a time.   Eventually, if the character is popular, I may have them tell their own chronicle.  Again, they start their chronicle from “their beginning,” then carry on to tell the story from where the last chronicle left off.   The first-person aspect of my storytelling allows the reader to become intimately close to almost all of my characters, and the reader feels like a “fly on the wall” for most scenes.

Is your book part of a series (if so, what are the other titles in the series we should be looking for)? My Dead Hunger series stands at 8 books.   They are numbered II thru VIII (Roman numerals) except the first one, which is just Dead Hunger: The Flex Sheridan Chronicle. 

Where can readers find you (website, social media, etc.)? If you Google me, you’ll find every possible place I am – Twitter (AuthorShelman), Facebook/AuthorShelman,  and Facebook/createyourfate, Goodreads, Smashwords, etc.

Do you have a website readers might want to check out?

AND please check this new TRAILER out for my newest release, Scabs: The Gemini Exception!

Bio: Eric A. Shelman was born in the prior century in Fort Worth, Texas. In his early teens, his widowed mother remarried a man named Ed Middleton, and his new dad moved the family to southern California. Eric used to write short stories that featured all of his friends as characters, but because Eric was a longhair living in Laguna Beach, California in the 1970s, you can bet they usually involved drugs of some kind.

Fast forward … to the mid-nineties. Eric started writing some short stories, and finally had one published. After that, he felt it was time to write a book. He initially intended to write supernatural fiction, along the lines of Stephen King and Dean Koontz, as well as many others. But when he discovered the story of a little, abused girl who was rescued by the ASPCA in 1874, he got sidetracked and wrote the very first book on her case, Out of the Darkness: The Story of Mary Ellen Wilson. It came out in 1999, and since that time, thousands have read it, and it is one of his biggest selling books ever. It’s also been optioned for a Major Motion Picture.

From there he wrote a thriller called A Reason to Kill and shelved it. Eric began work on a witch novel that involved past lives, but he became so confused while writing the book that he put it down at 53,000 words and didn’t write again for eleven years.
Wow. That was dumb.

Since 2011, Eric has written and released TWELVE full-length novels, including EIGHT volumes of his Dead Hunger zombie series. So … time travel, zombies, witches and serial killers. Something for everyone … everyone twisted, that is.

Eric A. Shelman lives in Southern Florida with his wife of 28 years, Linda.

Life is good.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s