Interview – Author Courtney Rene

Author Courtney Rene
Author Courtney Rene

B: Welcome to my blog! Please start out by telling everyone a little bit about yourself –

C:  I’m pretty normal in most regards.  I’m a wife and mother of two.  I’m also a closet book addict.  I’m that person that is genuinely not allowed in books stores with a credit card.  I’m quite the introvert, although I like to pretend I’m not.  We are the owners of a fish, a hamster, and two turtles, along with a stray cat or two that pretend they belongs to us once in a while.

B: Tell us about your books –

C:  I have two series books going on at the present.  The first being my YA Paranormal Series, Shadow Dancer.  There are four books currently published and out in this series.  This is a story of a young girl named Sunny:

Sunny has a gift that she has no idea how to use, until she meets Leif, a boy from the kingdom of Acadia, on the other side of the shadows. 

Leif teaches Sunny about Shadow Walkers and how to use her new found gifts. As they grow closer and their gifts grow stronger, a threat arrives. The Shadow Guard has been sent to bring Sunny back to Acadia, to determine if she is a threat to the king as the rightful ruler of Acadia. 

As Leif and Sunny prepare to defend themselves, Sunny finds that Leif has also been sent to bring Sunny back to the kingdom but for very different reasons. As a battle for possession of Sunny wages, she is struggling to come to turns with her feelings of inadequacy regarding controlling her gifts as well as the hurt regarding the lies and deceit of everyone around her. 

The other books continuing on within the series are:  Shadow Warrior, Shadow’s End, and Shadow Fire.

You can find these books here:

http://www.amazon.com/Shadow-Dancer-Courtney-Rene-ebook/dp/B00433TD6C/ref=sr_1_7?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1455216261&sr=1-7&keywords=Courtney+Rene

http://www.amazon.com/Shadow-Warrior-Dancer-Courtney-Rene-ebook/dp/B006XZ20VI/ref=sr_1_8?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1455216261&sr=1-8&keywords=Courtney+Rene

http://www.amazon.com/Shadows-End-Shadow-Dancer-Book-ebook/dp/B009JYLE6W/ref=sr_1_5?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1455216261&sr=1-5&keywords=Courtney+Rene

http://www.amazon.com/Shadow-Fire-Dancer-Book-ebook/dp/B00N6BTVJ6/ref=sr_1_9?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1455216261&sr=1-9&keywords=Courtney+Rene

~*~

The other series. I have going is also YA Paranormal.  It’s title is A Howl in the Night, which is the story of Abby:

Sweet Sixteen is supposed to be a turning point in your life. The world is before you in all its glory, just waiting for you to reach out and grab it. Right? For Abigail Staton no, not so much. Not only does she suddenly lose her best friend due to a fight, but suddenly her mother expects her to believe that the father, she has never met, is actually a werewolf. With that revelation, Abby is thrust into the world of two wolf clans who are not only fighting each other, but also fighting for Abby, one of the few females born to the shape-shifters. Her father is determined to pair Abby up with Derek, a very dominant and overwhelming shifter. Abby vehemently balks at this union to disastrous results. When war is declared between the two clans, Abby has to decide what side she is actually on.

The other title within this series is:  The Full Moon rises, which was just recently released in November 2015.

You can find these titles here:

http://www.amazon.com/Howl-Night-Courtney-Rene-ebook/dp/B008D2ZDH2/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1455216261&sr=1-1&keywords=Courtney+Rene

http://www.amazon.com/Full-Moon-Rises-Howl-NIght-ebook/dp/B017YEPFWM/ref=sr_1_3?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1455216261&sr=1-3&keywords=Courtney+Rene

B: What is special about your books that your readers love?

C:  I have been told that one of the things my readers like the most is that I have very strong female characters, which are relatable and inspiring.  I didn’t start out with that in mind when writing the books, but having a simpering girlie girl as a hero, didn’t mesh well with me.  Another perk is I add humor to my characters.  Again, this is another relateable attribute for my readers.

B: What should we be looking for from you in the future?

C:  I will begin work on the third book in the Howl in the Night series shortly, which I would love to get to my publisher asap.  There is a new fantasy story I am already working on.  Angels and demons and life and death.  I like it.  We will see if I can make it work for my readers.

B: Is there any genre you’d like to write for that you haven’t yet?

C:  I love the horror genre.  Although I have worked in this area in short stories and anthologies, I haven’t taken on a full novel.  I would like to break into that genre this year.  That’s my goal.

B: What three books would you take with you to read on the beach? Why?

C:  This is a hard question for me as I tend to read series books.  But if I could choose three series, then I would choose Harry Potter, because, hello, it’s Harry Potter.  Next would be a bit of a romance, in the Outlander Series.  Something about sunshine on a beach with the outlander books, just appeals to me.  Plus it would be a lasting read that I wouldn’t plow through in an hour or two.  And last, I would take the Vampire Lestat.  The story telling in that novel is suberb.  I love that character, evil and ignorant at times though he may be, I enjoy his journey every time.

B: What was your favorite read from the last year?

C:  Wow, that’s a good question.  I read over 55 books last year.  My favorite though I would have to say is a new series that Jodi Thomas put out, called Ransom Canyon.  It’s got history and drama and thriller and romance, and it’s got characterization.  I am really enjoying this find.  Maybe there is another that I liked more, but I don’t recall it right off.  This was the book that came to mind first, so that to me says, favorite.

B: Name three titles from your TBR list –

C:

  1. The last of the Raven Boys books coming out soon in April titled the Raven King. That’s a great series by the way.  If you haven’t checked it out, maybe you should.
  2. I want to read the King book, the follow up from the Shinning titled: Doctor Sleep.
  3. And lastly, I want to read, Eating Bull by Carrie Rubin. This was just recommended to me, and I think it sounds great!  Not your every day hero in an obese teen.

B: Is there anything you would like to share that I haven’t asked you about?

C:  No, I think you have covered just about everything.  Aside from letting people know that all my books can be found on my blog, with links for information and purchase.  Please feel free to stop over and say hello.

B: List where people can find you online:

C: You can find me at the following:

Amazon:  http://www.amazon.com/Courtney-Rene/e/B004X6SS2Y/ref=sr_tc_2_0?qid=1455215933&sr=1-2-ent

Facebook:  https://www.facebook.com/Shadow-Dancer-and-more-by-Courtney-Rene-164433473646449/

Twitter:  https://twitter.com/ctnyrene

Blog:  www.ctnyrene.blogspot.com

Email:  ctnyrene@aol.com

B: Thank for stopping by! I wish you all the best with your books.

C: Thank you so much for having me!

Courtney’s Biography:

Courtney Rene lives in the State of Ohio with her husband and two children.  She is a graduate and member of the Institute of Children’s Literature.  Her writings include magazine articles, short fiction stories, several anthologies, as well as her young adult novels, A Howl in the Night, and new release, The Full Moon Rises, as well as the Shadow Dancer series (Shadow Dancer, Shadow Warrior, Shadow’s End, and a break away novel, Shadow Fire), published through Rogue Phoenix Press.  For a complete listing, visit www.ctnyrene.blogspot com or feel free to contact her at ctnyrene@aol.com.

©Rebecca Besser and Courtney Rene, 2016.

All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

